Board of Trustees

The Ballet Spartanburg Board of Trustees is a diverse group of community leaders who govern the organization with the highest of integrity and fiduciary responsibility. The Board meets at noon at the Chapman Cultural Center a minimum of 7 times annually. The time of service is three years with an option to serve a second term. New board members are voted on annually to replace members who rotate off after completing their terms. Each member helps to cultivate donors and engage the community in understanding and furthering the complete mission/vision of Ballet Spartanburg.
2023/2024 Ballet Spartanburg Board of Trustees

Executive Committee

Dr. Kira L. Reaves, President Michelle Nelson, Treasurer
Julia Manello, Vice President Kinsey Blackwell, Secretary  

Angela Halstead, Past-President

Board Members

George Buck Brandt, III Margarette B. Miller
Kent Brannon Kyle Milner
Dr. Kelan Brown Cindy Riddle
Marquice Clark Natalie Robichaud
Kay Cox Robert Rodrigues
Robert Michael Ethridge Rosemary Moody Robert
Aundi Hunter Elizabeth Schoonover
Denise Beers-Kiepper Elizabeth Tisdale
Kate Leonard Stephanie Wofford
Dr. Chi Lim  

Board Member Emertius

Nancy Dowling




Center for Dance Education

Train With Us

Ballet Spartanburg

Carlos Agudelo, 2023 SC Governor's Award for an Individual

Ballet Spartanburg's Artistic Director, Carlos Agudelo, was awarded the South Carolina Governor's Award from the South Carolina Arts Commission on May 23, 2023, at the Chapman Cultural Center. The award was presented by Mr. David Platt, Executive Director of the South Carolina Arts Commission. "We recognize the unparalleled energy, enthusiasm, devotion and love for dance that Carlos has gifted to our community out of his passion for all to experience the arts for the past 32 years. We are overjoyed that Carlos has been recognized by the South Carolina Arts Commission, " Teresa S. Berline, Executive Director. "The South Carolina Arts Commission is an extraordinary organization in our state which promotes and advocates opportunities in the arts which values equality, access, diversity and inclusion. Ballet Spartanburg is honored by the support of the South Carolina Arts Commission and the recognition of Carlos Agudelo."

Error Message